Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the evening of that day, the first day of the week, the doors being shut where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood among them and said to them, “Peace be with you.”
When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. Then the disciples were glad when they saw the Lord.
Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you.”
And when he had said this, he breathed on them, and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit.
If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.”

John 20: 19 – 23

Every Tuesday I will post the Gospel reading in advance of Sunday as we gather together praying through the Scriptures. The reading this week is about the appearance of Jesus to the apostles. Having meditated and read the passage below twice the piece of the Gospel that speaks to me today is “he showed them his hands and his side” . Even though Jesus lived with them for many years and they saw his Passion Jesus knew they would fail to recognise him, he appears and shows them his hands and his side and the apostles see once again the wounds that had been inflicted upon him by the world and they know that it is not a dream. If Jesus had appeared with no wounds the apostles may have perceived the vision to be a Ghost , but as always it is necessary to dig deeper and peel away the layers because he stood among them with a mission.

How many times in my life do I doubt and disbelieve what my heart knows to be true. I want proof and a sign as I become distracted and consumed by the trials and tribulations that surround me daily. The passion I have endured in my own life has taught me to question more and I fail to believe in the wisdom of God’s plan.

I pray this week that I may see the wounds of Jesus in my life and believe with love in the faith that was given to me as a child. Jesus reawaken my love for you as I try to find my way from moment to moment.

I invite you to share the word or phrase that inspires you as we pray together….

 

