Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am the living bread which came down from heaven; if any one eats of this bread, he will live for ever; and the bread which I shall give for the life of the world is my flesh.
The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?”
So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you;
he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.
For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.
He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.
As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats me will live because of me.
This is the bread which came down from heaven, not such as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live for ever.”

John 6: 51 – 58

The Gospel this week is about the Eucharist Christ’s, eternal gift on earth.

This week I am moved by the words “I am the living bread”.  We eat bread everyday for breakfast or in a sandwich at lunch time but that’s not the living bread sent from heaven nourishing our souls in the world. I pray that God will help me love the Eucharist more and more transforming my heart to mirror his heart in this very difficult world that makes you feel alone and isolated. I need the living bread to help me cope from day-to-day with the many stresses life throws at me. 

I invite you to share the word or phrase that inspires you as we pray together….

 

