Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

And he called to him his twelve disciples and gave them authority over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal every disease and every infirmity.
The names of the twelve apostles are these: first, Simon, who is called Peter, and Andrew his brother; James the son of Zeb’edee, and John his brother;
Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James the son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus;
Simon the Cananaean, and Judas Iscariot, who betrayed him.
These twelve Jesus sent out, charging them, “Go nowhere among the Gentiles, and enter no town of the Samaritans,
but go rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.
And preach as you go, saying, `The kingdom of heaven is at hand.’

Matthew 10:1-7

The line I love in this passage from Scripture is “to heal every disease and every infirmity” my mum is in hospital at the moment and this Scripture relates directly to my life. I’m having difficulty coming to terms with my mother’s illness and her spirit is missed from around the house . A hospital has become my world for the last ten days. I pray that the disciples chosen by God will help me to find the strength to cope with the next ten days. I hope that my mum will find healing in the hands of the medical cardiology team.

The earthly healing hands chosen by God bring the sick back to life and I want them to heal my mother’s fragile heart and make it better so that she can enjoy life again in her own home.

 

I invite you to share your feelings and thoughts on the Gospel as we use this as our primary meditation for this week.

