Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jesus went away from there, and withdrew into the district of Tyre and Sidon. And a Canaanite woman from that region came out and began to cry out, saying, ‘Have mercy on me, Lord, Son of David; my daughter is cruelly demon-possessed.’ But He did not answer her a word. And His disciples came and implored Him, saying, ‘Send her away, because she keeps shouting at us.’ But He answered and said, ‘I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.’ But she came and began to bow down before Him, saying, ‘Lord, help me!’ And He answered and said, ‘It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the dogs.’ But she said, ‘Yes, Lord; but even the dogs feed on the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.’ Then Jesus said to her, ‘O woman, your faith is great; it shall be done for you as you wish.’ And her daughter was healed at once. (Matthew 15:21-28; cf. Mark 7:24-30).

Jesus withdrew from the region of Galilee and went into the region of Tyre and Sidon. It was His first visit to a Gentile nation. Tyre and Sidon were located just to the north of Galilee.
The piece in the Scripture that speaks to me is “Lord help me!” how often in my life have I cried out to God to show me the light out of a painful and emotional darkness. Often I found myself stuck in limbo not always through my own fault but other people and influences in my life have caused difficulties. Many times I would happily take a crumb if it were handed to me in order to relieve a painful situation. The woman cried out for her child and spoke up to the master on her behalf and reminded Jesus she believed in his power to save and he rewarded her spontaneously recognising her faith and his responsibility to action the burden that weighed heavily on her heart.
I pray that my Lord and my God might give me a crumb to feed my heavy soul that needs the bread of life to see through the darkness in life’s problems.
I invite you to share your feelings and thoughts about the reading in advance of Sunday.

Crumbs From the Table

Matthew 15:21-28

